Public Candidate Profile


Environmental consultant

Madrid, Spain Message Amelia

About Amelia and job interest

I am a recent Zoology graduate with interest in environmental consultancy, conservation and marine biology. I am a confident, ambitious and hardworking person. I am used to working in a team of people but also good at taking responsibility. I work well under pressure and cope well with stressful situations. Passionate about science, biology, the natural world and climate change. I am a very open person and enjoy connecting with people. Very willing to learn and build new skills, currently based in Madrid (Spain) and willing to move to the UK.

Career Status Junior or Entry level
Desired Role Environmental consultant
Search status Actively searching
Sector of Interest Agriculture & Environment, Consulting
Job period Part-time/Full-time
Remote job? Yes
Why Should We Hire You?

I am keen to enter the world of conservation having gained a significant amount of scientific knowledge during my degree, and now that I have graduated my interest in conservation is stronger than ever, motivating me to continue learning and develop skills to work in this industry. I am interested in helping businesses and industries take a more environmentally friendly approach. I have developed sound project management skills by having managed my own research projects as well as working on team projects. In Portugal, a project on fireflies allowed my project management skills to be developed further, alongside my team working abilities. The project was focused on analysing firefly flashing behaviour via analysing video and photography footage, therefore, I have gained valuable analytical skills throughout this project which would be extremely relevant to any role concerning consultancy. I am eager to build and learn new skills beyond university. I am currently doing a QGIS course with a marine mammal research association called DMAD. I am learning to use this software which I know is a central tool in environmental consultancy. In addition, I have had a lot of experience using R for statistical analysis purposes throughout my degree and I am able to efficiently interpret data presented to me. This will be useful when there is a need to extract key statistical information. Throughout my degree, one of the most valuable skills I learnt was how to research effectively and write scientific reports accurately and efficiently which will be necessary for any role. I am bilingual (English and Spanish) and have 3 years of experience in public speaking. I have done talks at a school about climate change, ocean conservation and coral reefs. I am a team player but also have experience in leadership roles.

Video CV


09/2017 - 06/2020

 United Kingdom (UK)

BSc Zoology

Bachelor Degree (Undergraduate)

University of Nottingham

My degree has provided me with a range of skills including lab skills, statistical data analysis mainly using R, analytical skills and the ability to report write proficiently. I have taken a variety of modules that have really enabled me to develop as a well-rounded biological scientist. Some of the modules I took were: Genetics, Conservation Genetics, Evolution and Behaviour, Bioethics, Animal Physiology and Behaviour and Biological Challenges in the Tropics. These modules and more have enabled me to explore the different disciplines within the biological sciences. In addition, I have learnt to work in a team as well as managing my own projects. One of the most valuable skills I have learnt is to properly research and read scientific reports as well as producing my own.

Language pro-efficiency

Language Speaking Writing/Reading Certificate
English (Default)
  • Native
  • Native


  • Native
  • Native


  • Independent
  • Intermediate



Do You Consider Yourself To Have Any Disability? No
Additional information Teaching Assistant - Kensington School - Madrid, Spain Oct 2020 - Present Assistant in year 1 and reading support for year 2 and 3. Public relations - UoN Surf - University of Nottingham Students'​ Union, UK Apr 2019 – Jun 2020 Managing advertising, social media accounts, merchandise and sponsorships for the society as well as organising events and trips. Teacher - Natural English Project - Madrid, Spain Jun 2017 – Jul 2017 Supervising and teaching primary aged children in English. Creative play and sports monitor. Private Tutor - Self-employed Jan 2017 – May 2017 Teaching Geography (IGCSE + A-Level). Teacher - Natural English Project - Madrid, Spain Jun 2016 – Jul 2016 Supervising and teaching primary aged children in English. Creative play and sports monitor. Summer Camp Counselor - Hipica Prado Luis - Madrid, Spain Jun 2015 – Aug 2015 Teaching children from the ages of 6-12 in English. Teaching and supervising horse riding lessons. Helping disabled children equine therapy sessions.

Similar Graduates